Sleep training follow up and a rant about British mums!

Just to update everyone regarding my last post, it’s now been two weeks of the sleep training and it has been much less painful than I expected. Ellie wakes once or twice before midnight but afterwards sleeps through until about 5:30 a.m. My strategy was to let her cry for 5 minutes before checking on her and then leaving right away. Then I let her cry 10 minutes, etc. I never had to go past the 10 minute cry point, thank goodness! And amazingly, her twin brother didn’t wake up once during this process. Getting up at 5:30 a.m is another issue. With the days getting longer I have a feeling that 5 a.m. is going to be a regular wake up time for me, ugh! Additionally, my oldest child has been waking in the night a lot lately due to night terrors/nightmares so I am still not well rested. Can anyone tell me when a mum gets back to some regular sleep? How many years must I wait?

So, we all went to a birthday party last weekend for a 5-year-old friend of Will’s. It was held in a church hall and had about 15 kids. When my husband and I arrived the first thing we noticed was all the mums (weirdly, there were only mums there and this was on a Saturday) were sitting on the stage at the one end of the hall lined up like a bunch of birds on a wire, watching their kids playing different games with the host and hostess at the other end of the hall. Naturally, Jason and I walked our kids over to the other kids and then we participated in, helped with, and sat nearby the activities. I kept glancing over to the mums and they just kept sitting there even when a pinata was brought out and the kids lined up to take their turn with it. Let me emphasize that this hall was rather long so they were quite far away. I just don’t get it! Why wouldn’t you come over, take some pictures, talk to the hostess who invited you, and be involved with your kid? Apologies to my British readers but this is just another typical example of British coolness and disinterest. I couldn’t believe it! Then it was lunch time and all the kids were to sit down at these little tables and not one mum got up to either assist her child or to offer the hostess any help. Correction, there was one mother who came a little later and did help and socialize, but she was Nigerian! So the Nigerian and the Americans helped the Mexican hostess while the 8 British mums did not once remove their asses from the stage during a two-hour party. Typical.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mumabroad.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/sleep-training-follow-up-and-a-rant-about-british-mums/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

