I’m not having a fourth child!

It’s morning and I’m hunched over a cup of decaf (because I want to nap as soon as Julia gets here). My three small children have tormented me throughout the night and a mantra keeps repeating in my head: “I’m not having a fourth child, I’m not having a fourth child…” It’s crazy to even think that I was considering it down the road. I’m a 39-year-old married woman (40 is around the corner-yikes!) and I have three children, Will, 3 1/2 years old, and twins Jack and Ellie, 16 months. We live outside of London in the U.K. and have been here 4 1/2 years now. My three children were born here.

Last night was a winner. Both twins have terrible colds with hacking coughs and they woke up repeatedly all night, including a 1 1/2 hour stint from Ellie where she refused to lie down around 3am. Even Will woke up once crying for his pacifier. I think every mum plays that entertaining game of ‘find the pacifier’ in the middle of the night.  Sometimes you’re lucky and sometimes you’re screwed.  Last night I was lucky.I know we need to get him to stop using it at night but I JUST don’t have the energy right now.  So now I am essentially ignoring the children as they wander around the living room. Will is dancing along to Shrek with a sequin fairy skirt and a frilly hat –imagine how much we LOVE that ensemble!  Who knows what trouble the twins are getting into….it is a little quiet, hmm.

Enough about my personal torments, let me talk about this blog. I know everyone has a blog out there so this is definitely nothing new, especially yet ANOTHER mom talking about her life. Why am I doing it? A few reasons:

1. I live an isolated life here in England staying home with the kids and find it very hard to make English friends. I don’t have anyone to talk to on a regular basis so this seems like a great outlet.

2.  My husband always says that I have no filter in my brain before I speak therefore some of my observations might be amusing and even slightly offensive which I suppose can be an interesting read.  Life is certainly much more difficult here in England than we expected.

3.  I want to have a record of life with the kids and I find it easier to write to people rather than to myself in a diary.  I enjoy two-way conversations so please feel free to respond to my blogs either positively or negatively.

So here goes.  I apologize in advance for any grammar mistakes I might make.  It’s been a while since I engaged my brain which most mums of small children will appreciate.  Thanks for listening.  Have to go now, Will is yelling for something.

Published in: on December 17, 2009 at 5:59 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mumabroad.wordpress.com/2009/12/17/12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

